Portishead used to have two coal fired power stations which once dominated the landscape. The first, Portishead A was built in 1929 and the second, Portishead B in 1955. The last remains – the chimneys – were demolished in 1992.
Portishead and the Gordano area have a fascinating history from Domesday Book times through to Victorian docks, railways and industry.
Portishead has a brief mention in the Domesday Book of 1086, but settlements in the area go back to the Iron Age. At the heart of the town is the Victorian High Street. There are 37 listed buildings in the area.
Docks and Industry
The docks were built in the 19th century and various industries grew up around them. The docks are now a marina, and the petroleum and phosphorus plants and the timber wharfs are gone.