Gordano Civic Society

Founded 1956

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
Search this site >> Gordano Civic Society logo

Programme of events 2023/2024

Previous years' programmes >>

All Monday meetings are held at the Somerset Hall, The Precinct, Portishead, BS20 6AH at 7.30 pm.

Car parking immediately behind hall in Wyndham Way car park. Visitors welcome – cost £5 inc refreshments.

Monday 11 Sept 2023

Scams (Venue changed to Methodist Church)

Lin Griffin, Age UK

Monday 16 Oct 2023

Urban Legends

Eugene Byrne

Monday 13 Nov 2023

Bristol Blue Plaques

Gordon Young

Monday 11 Dec 2023

Communicating Christmas

Clive Burlton

Monday 8 Jan 2024

Clifton Suspension Bridge, 'My first love, my darling'

Mike Rowland

Monday 12 Feb 2024

The experience of travel by ship in the Bristol Channel before the age of steam ... ripping yarns! (change in programme)

Philip Ashford

Monday 11 Mar 2024

Backwell Bricks

Roy Ackrill

Monday 8 April 2024

An Auctioneer’s Lot    

Andrew Stowe, ASFAV

+ short AGM

Summer 2024 events:

Saturday 11 May 2024

Guided tour of Arno's Vale cemetary. Cost £10. Please contact Catherine Dixon if you would like to go.

Meet at the Folk Hall Car Park at 9.30 for car sharing

Sat 27 / Sun 28 July 2024


Portishead Summer Show

Visit our stand. Join or renew membership




First meeting of the next season: Monday 9 September 2024